Demonstration of Learning

In my view assessment and evaluation is an integral and fundamental part of a powerful instructing and learning process. Therefore, adjustments must be made in assessment and evaluation so that the overall focus is on final goal and especially on students learning. My motivation behind assessment is that it is a chance for students to show their learning and their performance keeping in mind the final goal for their subject/unit/lesson. I wouldn’t like to see my assessment as a judgment of my students learning but it will solemnly be a record of their performance. I don’t want to confine my assessment strategies to traditional methods of final exams and tests (Assessment of learning). I believe that students should be given opportunities to show their performance on continuous basis. And this gives me the confidence to introduce assessment for and as learning during my instructions. Moreover, keeping my focus and my students focus on the final/end goal I like distributing and dividing my assessment in small chunks over the whole semester (including students classroom engagement, assigning project related to real life, classroom discussions on studied topics, quizzes, tests and exams). Further, I want to give my students the chance to present their learning in whatever they like; therefore, I always want to have a discussion with my students before and after an assessment to get my student feedback. This allows me to differentiate and adapt my assessment, therefore, observation, conversation leads to a good end product. In all students ought to be given learning chances to exceed expectations in class and take part in basic reflection with the goal that they will have the opportunity to comprehend, reflect and screen their own learning.

I tried implementing my assessment and evaluating philosophy during my field experience. The one strategy or tool that really worked for me was bell work/entrance slip. This technique allowed me to revisit some concepts that students are confused about. In order to align outcomes with real life through assessment as learning I created small tasks with in the class environment that helped student reflect on their learning. I made use of mid chapter reviews in order to prepare my students for unit tests. Observing and monitoring students’ workbook practices helped me adjust my teaching practices a lot. Creating tasks was a difficult experience for me because I was trying to incorporate different kinds of learners. I created figures, guiding questions and also some difficult questions in order to fit the task for all learners. But the handouts I provided were not very readable to all learners. So students will misread some questions. For my internship I will make a management checklist before creating a task that will help consider all kinds of differentiation.

One thing I really wanted to do was a unit project with my students. I think because my planning during the three weeks was very focused on open tasks. I missed the opportunity to think about it. To completely align my assessment philosophy with my internship I will keep in mind to distribute and divide my focus on different assessment tools.

Finally the three key learning’s I want to share are as follows:

  1. Aligning assessment with instruction and curriculum is the most important aspect for teacher professional development and students’ learning.
  2. Assessment of learning requires the support of assessment for and as learning.
  3. Assessment shouldn’t be restricted to traditional high stakes exams, keeping in mind the diversity of classroom.
Leave a Reply

