Connecting the dots of my learning project

co

When my prof Dr. Alec for ECMP 355 mentioned about the learning project as one of the major part of course. I got scared and panicked. because i had no clue what i am going to pick. But my wife encouraged me pick something that i can use later also. So, I decided to make website. I had little bit knowledge of database and programming and i thought i will be using these to make my website. Now when i googled on how to make a website, there were lot of resource on this topic but all of them were pointing in one direction. That there is already a website and you login into that and then you can create your page like wordpress. But I wanted to learn how to make that website and there was no easy answer to that. So, i asked my Osman Omer, he is a software engineer and he told me that in order to that i need to learn about Drupal, and specifically MySQL and thing like but before that he told me learn more about database and create an outlook for what  i wanted in my website. so here is what i started

case-1

This i created with the help w3schools

But this was just the beginning and showing my words drawing skills, but i needed more. so i went back to my best learning friend YouTube, So that i can figure out what more is required. I learned that after the outlook what a web designer need to do is figure out on what kind of server the website should be created so here is what i did next

Now, i learned that every server requires an architectural input in form of a database, this information i got from a great read have a look 

1 2 3

Now, everything was ready for the server, but the real problem i was having was that when i downloaded the drupal and input all this information nothing was happening, i had no clue what to do next and for help i watched this video

but i was still at square one. i figured that not all information on YouTube is helpful. i have to go to basics again and i started to looking for how to download drupal and after searching for videos and videos i found the one which took me to the next level. So following step by step process i was here

ed8

you can see it was not easy to get this page on computer. Full task was not done yet i had no idea how to operate this site. I figure out i am the admin i can create what ever i want for my clients so the first thing i did is find a way to create “careers” tab for my users. In end here is what i have i plan to make it full fledged website.

screenshot_4

I have finally been able to put all dot together and I am confident that if anyone look through this post will get to know how they can create their own website. Have look on mine website (remember you need to download WAMP first)

 

Leave a Reply

